Skip to Main Content

APA 7 Resource Center: Journal / Magazine Article

Journal and Magazine Articles

 

Special Notes:
  • If a journal article has a DOI, include the DOI in the reference.
  • If the journal article does not have a DOI but does have a URL that will resolve for readers (e.g., it is from an online journal that is not part of a database), include the URL of the article at the end of the reference.
  • If the journal article does not have a DOI and is from an academic research database, end the reference after the page range (for an explanation of why, see the APA database information page). The reference in this case is the same as for a print journal article.
  • Always include the issue number for a journal article.
  • If the journal article has an article number instead of a page range, include the word “Article” and then the article number instead of the page range.
  • If the journal does not use volume, issue, and/or article or page numbers, omit the missing element(s) from the reference.
  • When there are 21 or more authors, include the first 19 authors’ names, insert an ellipsis (but no ampersand), and then add the final author’s name.

Journal Article: One Author

Basics:
Author Date Title (SOURCE) Periodical Information (SOURCE) URL
Author, A. A. 

(2020).


 

 Title of article. Title of Periodical, vol#(issue#), 3-18.

none for print or academic database

https://doi.org/xxxx

https://xxx.xxxx
References:

Chrousos, G. P. (2009). Stress and disorders of the stress system. Nature Reviews: Endocrinology, 5(7), 374-381. 

Milligan, C. K. (2006). Yoga for stress management program as a complementary alternative counseling resource in a university counseling center. Journal of College Counseling, 9(2), 181-187. https://doi.org/10.1002/j.2161-1882.2006.tb00105.x

Sorrell, J. M. (2020). Tidying up: Good for the aging brain. Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services, 58(4), 16-18. https://www.healio.com/psychiatry/journals/jpn/2020-4-58-4/tidying-up-good-for-the-aging-brain

Journal Article: Two Authors

Basics:
Author Date Title (SOURCE) Periodical information (SOURCE) URL or DOI
Author, A. A. & Author, B. B.

(2020).
 

 Title of article.

Title of Periodical, 21(6), 55-59.

Title of Periodical, 67(12), e987643.

 

none for print or academic database

https://doi.org/xxxx

https://xxx.xxxx
Examples:

Layton, B., & Hahn, K. (1995). The librarian as a partner in nursing education. Bulletin of the Medical Library Association, 83(4), 499-502.

Meier, N. F., & Welch, A. S. (2016). Walking versus biofeedback: A comparison of acute interventions for stressed students. Anxiety, Stress & Coping: An International Journal, 29(5), 463-478. https://doi.org/10.1080/10615806.2015.1085514

Gyura, A., & McCauley, S.O. (2015). The whole family serves: Supporting sexual minority youth in military families. Journal of Pediatric Health Care, 30(5), 414-423. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S089152451500365X

Journal Article: Three to Twenty Authors

Basics:
Author Date Title (SOURCE) Periodical information (SOURCE) URL or DOI
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C. & Author, D. D.

(2020).
 

 Title of article.

Title of Periodical, 21(6), 55-59.

Title of Periodical, 67(12), e987643.

 

none for print or academic database

https://doi.org/xxxx

https://xxx.xxxx
Examples:

Layton, B., Frederick, M., & Hahn, K. (1995). The librarian as a partner in nursing education. Bulletin of the Medical Library Association, 83(4), 499-502.

Meier, N. F., Jackson, Q. R., & Welch, A. S. (2016). Walking versus biofeedback: A comparison of acute interventions for stressed students. Anxiety, Stress & Coping: An International Journal, 29(5), 463-478. https://doi.org/10.1080/10615806.2015.1085514

Gyura, A., Mollusk, J., Simpson, H., & Basmati, S.O. (2015). The whole family serves: Making dinner together. Journal of Dining at Home, 30(5), 414-423. https://www.fooddirect.chow/smith

Journal Article in an Online Database, Reprinted From a Journal Article

Dorrian, G & Whittaker, I. (2022). NASA wants to send humans to Venus – Here’s why that’s a brilliant idea. In Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection. (Reprinted from “NASA wants to send humans to Venus – Here’s why that’s a brilliant idea,” 2018, The Conversation) 

Note: For more examples, see section 43 & 44 on page 327 in the APA handbook.

©2023 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com
Cartersville 678-872-8400
Floyd 706-295-6318
Marietta 678-872-4237
Paulding 678-946-1007
Text Us! 706-438-4168
©2024 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com