LibGuides: Chicago 17 Resource Center: Journal / Magazine Article

Journal and Magazine Articles

Before starting the citation process, please make sure you are using the correct CMS style as required by your instructor!

Special Notes:

Chicago style does NOT require the access date in citations of formally published online sources. However, if your discipline (or professor) prefers that this information is included, please include it prior to the DOI/URL. Separate it from the rest of the citation using commas for Notes and periods in the Bibliography entry (e.g., ... , access December 4, 2017, ... and ... . Accessed December 4, 2017. ...).
Articles retrieved from library databases should include the database name instead of a DOI/URL.

Journal Article, Print

One Author

Full Note:

1. AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #.

Example:

1. Kimberly Jensen, "A Base Hospital Is Not a Coney Island Dance Hall," Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies 26, no. 2 (June 2005): 211.

Subsequent Note:

2. AuthorLastName, "Shortened Article Title," page #.

Example:

2. Jensen, "Base Hospital", 213.

Bibliography:

AuthorLastName, FirstName MiddleInitial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article.

Example:

Jensen, Kimberly. "A Base Hospital Is Not a Coney Island Dance Hall." Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies 26, no. 2 (June 2005): 206-235.

Jensen, Kimberly. "More Dancing in a Base Hospital." Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies 26, no. 3 (August 2005): 40-61.

Two or Three Authors

Full Note:

1. AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName and AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial LastName, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #.

2. AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial LastName, AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial LastName, and AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #.

Example:

1. Mark G. Vines and Val Kline. "Remedial Repairs for Institutional Roofers," Journal of Plant Maintenance 67, no. 2 (2021): 18.

2. Mark G. Vines, Malachi James, and Val Kline. "More Remedial Repairs for Institutional Roofers," Journal of Plant Maintenance 67, no. 3 (2021): 45.

Subsequent Note:

3. AuthorLastName and AuthorLastName, "Article Title," page #.

4. AuthorLastName, AuthorLastName, and AuthorLastName, "Article Title," page #.

Example:

3. Vines and Kline, "Remedial Repairs for Institutional Roofers," 18.

4. Vines, James and Kline, "More Remedial Repairs for Institutional Roofers," 45.

Bibliography:

AuthorLastName, FirstName MiddleInitial and AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article.

AuthorLastName, FirstName MiddleInitial., AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName, and AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article.

Example:

Vines, Mark G. and Val Kline. "Remedial Repairs for Institutional Roofers." Journal of Plant Maintenance 67, no. 3 (2021): .13-21.

Vines, Mark G., Malachi James, and Val Kline. "More Remedial Repairs for Institutional Roofers." Journal of Plant Maintenance 67, no. 3 (2021): 45 - 52.

Four or More Authors

Full Note:

1. AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName et al., "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #.

Example:

1. Sarah Smith et al. "On the Wings of a Cat," Cat Behavior Journal 12, no. 1 (2020): 32.

Subsequent Note:

2. Author LastName et al, "Article Title," page #.

Example:

2. Smith, Sarah et al. "On the Wings of a Cat," 32.

Bibliography:

AuthorLastName, FirstName MiddleInitial et al. "Article Title." Journal Title vol#, no. issue# (Year): Page range of article.

Example:

Smith, Sarah et al. "On the Wings of a Cat." Cat Behavior Journal 12, no. 1 (2020): 32.

Journal Article, Online

Full Note:

1. AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #, DOI/URL.

Example:

1. Martin Kitchen, "The German Invasion of Canada in the First World War," International History Review 7, no. 2 (June 1985): 248, http://www.jstor.org/stable/40105462.

2. Joshua D. Kertzer and Brian C. Rathbun, "Fair is Fair: Social Preferences and Reciprocity in International Politics," World Politics 67, no. 4 (2015): 650, doi: 10.1017/S0043887115000180.

Subsequent Note:

2. AuthorLastName, "Article Title," page #.

Example:

3. Kitchen, "The German Invasion of Canada," 248.

4. Kertzer and Rathbun, "Fair is Fair," 648.

Bibliography:

AuthorLastName, FirstName MiddleInitial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article [if provided]. DOI/URL.

Example:

Kertzer, Joshua D., and Brian C. Rathbun. "Fair is Fair: Social Preferences and Reciprocity in International Politics." World Politics 67, no. 4 (2015): 613-655. doi: 10.1017/S0043887115000180.

Kitchen, Martin. "The German Invasion of Canada in the First World War." International History Review 7, no. 2 (June 1985): 245-260.

http://www.jstor.org/stable/4010546.

Special Note:

Online and print articles are the same, except for the DOI/URL at the end. Follow the print examples for multiple authors and remember to add that final piece of information.

Magazine Article, sec 14.188-14.190

Full Note:

1. AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Month day, year, page #.

2. AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Month day, year, page #, URL or Name of Database.

Example:

Janna Rogers, "The Mouse Has Left the House," Travel In Style, October 1, 2020, 23.

Jean Picard, "Holograms in Space," Life and Leisure, May, 1999, www.lifeleisure.com/spacecroquet.

Subsequent Note:

2. AuthorLastName, "Article Title," page #.

Example:

2. Rogers, "The Mouse Has Left the House," 23.

2.Picard, "Holograms in Space."

Bibliography:

AuthorLastName, FirstName MiddleInitial. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month day, year, page #.

Example:

Rogers, Janna. "The Mouse Has Left the House." Travel In Style, October 1, 2020, 23-25.

Picard, Jean. "Holograms in Space." Life and Leisure, May, 1999, www.lifeleisure.com/spacecroquet.

Special Note:

Month, day, and page number may be missing in magazines. If so, omit them from your citation.

Cartersville	678-872-8400
Floyd	706-295-6318
Marietta	678-872-4237
Paulding	678-946-1007
Text Us!	706-438-4168