LibGuides: Chicago 17 Resource Center: Book with Author or Editor

Books

Before starting the citation process, please make sure you are using the correct CMS style as required by your instructor!

Special Notes:

If your resource has one editor instead of one author, insert the editor's name in the place where the author's name is now, followed by a comma and the word "ed." without the quotation marks.
If your work has two or more editors instead of two or more authors, insert the names of the editors into the place where the authors' names are now, followed by a comma and the word "eds." without the quotation marks.
For works authored by or edited by four to ten persons, list all names in the bibliography, but only list the name of the first author followed by "et al." with no intervening comma in the notes.
Articles retrieved from library databases should include the database name instead of a DOI/URL.

Book with One Author or Editor

Full Note:

1. AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Example:

1. Partha Chatterjee, The Black Hole of Empire: History of a Global Practice of Power (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2012), 52, doi://4564.mt.6yh

2. David W. Ellwood, ed., The Movies as History: Visions of the Twentieth Century. (Stroud, Gloucestershire: Sutton, 2000), 4, http://moviewebsite.org.

Subsequent Note:

3. AuthorLastName, Shortened Book Title, page #.

Example:

1. Chatterjee, Movies as History, 25.

2. Ellwood, 8.

Bibliography:

AuthorLastName, FirstName MiddleInitial. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Chatterjee, Partha. The Black Hole of Empire: History of a Global Practice of Power. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2012. doi://4564.mt.6yh.

Ellwood, David W., ed. The Movies as History: Visions of the Twentieth Century. Stroud, Gloucestershire: Sutton, 2000. http://moviewebsite.org.

Book with Two or Three Authors or Editors

Full Note:

1. AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial LastName and AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial LastName, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Example:

1. W.F. Garrett-Petts, James F. Hoffman, and Ginny Ratsoy, eds., Whose Culture Is It, Anyway?: Community Engagement in Small Cities (Vancouver, BC: New Star Books, 2014), 48.

Subsequent Note:

2. AuthorLastName and AuthorLastName, Book Title, page #.

Example:

2. Garrett-Petts, Hoffman, and Ratsoy, eds., Whose Culture Is It, Anyway?, 48.

Bibliography:

AuthorLastName, FirstName MiddleInitial., and AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName. Book Title: Subtitle Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Garrett-Petts, William F., James F. Hoffman, and Ginny Ratsoy, eds. Whose Culture Is It, Anyway?: Community Engagement in Small Cities. Vancouver, BC: New Star Books, 2014.

Book with Four or More Authors or Editors

Full Note:

1. AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName et al., Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Example:

1. Jeri A. Sechzer et al., eds., Women and Mental Health (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1996), 243.

Subsequent Note:

2. AuthorLastName et al., Book Title, page #.

Example:

2. Sechzer et al., Women and Mental Health, 243.

Bibliography:

AuthorLastName, FirstName MiddleInitial., AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName, AuthorFirstName MiddleInitial. LastName, and AuthorFirstName Initial. LastName. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Sechzer, Jeri A., Sheila M. Pfaffilin, Florence L. Denmark, Anne Griffin, and Susan J. Blumenthal, eds. Women and Mental Health. Baltimore:

Johns Hopkins University Press, 1996.

SPECIAL NOTE

For works with 4 to 10 authors, et al is used in the footnote, and all authors are listed in the Bibliography. For works with more than 10 authors, only the first seven authors should be listed in the Bibliography, followed by et al.