Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Tips: CINAHL tips

Nursing

In CINAHL, make sure that you are on the Advanced Search Screen. A few options to limit your search are listed below:

  • Check Full-Text to see articles immediately.
  • Enter your date range in "Published Date From"
  • Check "Any Author as Nurse"
  • There are many more options such as location, evidence-based practice, and age and gender limits. Explore!

 


CINAHL Advanced Search Screenshot


 

CINAHL Headings are useful if you're not quite sure where to start your search or have a very broad topic. For example, using the CINAHL Heading, "Myocardial Infarction" will search for articles with both "myocardial infarction" and "heart attack." 

Alternately, if you've finally found an article after a difficult search, look at the subject headings for more search terms. To see the subject headings for an article, click the title of the article for more information.

 

STEP 1: Choose "CINAHL HEADINGS" on the top menu and enter your search term (tylenol.)

 Screenshot of CINAHL Headings

 

STEP 2: Select Your Terms and Subheadings. Hit the big green "Search Database" button.

Things to note:

  • The search for "tylenol" redirected to the heading "Acetaminophen."
  • You can narrow further by choosing a subheading. In this case: "Adverse Effects"
  • If you don't understand a term, click the scope note (small yellow dialog box) to get a definition.
  • What does "Explode" mean?
    • CINAHL will search for the headings listed under Acetaminophen (Broadens search)
  • What does "Major Concept" mean?
    • It will restrict results to articles where the subject heading is the main topic (Narrows Search)
  • You can add more terms using "Browse Additional Terms." *This feature appears at the very bottom of the search results of subject headings. It can be annoying to find, but it is there.*
    CINAHL Headings Screenshot of Acetominophen

 

 

STEP 3: View your Results

  • Notice that the search has been translated to (MH "Acetaminophen/AE.") The /AE is the adverse effects subheading.
  • View the article by selecting the PDF or HTML Full-Text option
  • Don't forget about the left-hand menu to narrow your results
  • It takes time to build searches. If you want to save your search, you can create a free account
     

Screen shot of MeSH Search for Acetaminophen/AE

 

STEP 4: View an Article

 

  • To view an article in the search results, click the title to get more detailed results.
  • On the left, look for full-text PDF and/or HTML options if they are available.
  • Look for Source: to see the where the book or article was originally published.   
    • If you click the title of the journal, you can see where the journal is published!
  • Look for the Cite button to automatically generate a citation for your bibliography. Double check it for accuracy!
  • Look at Major Subjects: for ideas for key words. Click on a subject heading to a run a new search with that term.

Screenshot of MeSH Search: Article Detail Screen 


 

Video Tutorials

MEDLINE w/ Full Text Searching

Full Text & Inter Library Loan (ILL)

For instant access:
When you search, check the full-text button Full Text with tick box checked 
or look for the articles with
PDF PDF logo and html full-text full text.

We subscribe to a lot of different journals, but not everything! 

If you find something that you want and we don't have it, don't worry!

Fill out this inter library loan form.

 

©2021 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com