We've talked about the main Galileo search options, now let's look at individual Subject Databases. They're a great way to limit the number of results so you can see more of the subject or type of content you're looking for.
Start by clicking All Databases A-Z under the Galileo search box. A new window will open and you can sort by subject or type!
We have databases for many different subjects. We also have databases that are all videos, or all images, or all newspapers. So depending on what you're researching, you can drill down to particular databases that meet your needs the best.
Not necessarily. If you have a really broad topic you might want to start with a main Galileo search first. But if you have a particular subject in mind (if you need literary criticism, or scientific articles) or need a particular type (you want a video recording of a speech), an individual database might be your best choice!
Alas, not everything. Galileo searches *most* of the universe in time and space, but there are black holes for a few things that you can only get if you go to an individual database. We librarians always try to point those out when that's the case! And sometimes Galileo results can be overwhelming, so looking at an individual database can be easier to deal with. It's up to you!
The best way to find a subject database is through links on the library homepage, just under the search box. There's a Databases by Subject and a Databases A - Z. BUT ... these two searches do not contain everything. If you really want to drill down, try using the GALILEO link. On the top right you'll see databases!
| Cartersville | 678-872-8400 |
| Floyd | 706-295-6318 |
| Marietta | 678-872-4237 |
| Paulding | 678-946-1007 |
| Text Us! | 706-438-4168 |
