Databases (Galileo) - ENGL 1102 - Minor (Floyd) - Spring 2025 - LibGuides at Georgia Highlands College

General Databases

General Databases

Use general databases to:

Browse and start the search process. Perform multi-diciplinary searches.

Find information when there is no clear discipline. Find information about any general topic.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for academic research. It provides indexing to over 17,000 journals with more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,500 in full-text covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Provided by Georgia Highlands College Libraries
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.

Periodicals

You will find articles from periodicals while searching Galileo, but if you want to search a specific publication, you can do so through Gil Find's Find Journals Tab.

1. Search for the periodical you are looking for.

2. Click Online Access.

3. Select one of the available options to access the periodical.

4. Search within the periodical.

Subject Databases

Subject Databases

Use subject databases to:

Comprehensively search within a discipline. Find Articles about obscure or under-studied topics.

Limit your search to scholarly articles. Conduct in-depth research.

You can search a list of all databases on the Databases A-Z page. I have provided a list of a few that might be helpful for your assignment below.

Arts and Humanities This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts & Music This link opens in a new window
The Fine Arts & Music Collection provides full text from more than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale (RILM) index supporting drama, music, art history, and filmmaking research.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture This link opens in a new window
Pop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

Cartersville	678-872-8400
Floyd	706-295-6318
Marietta	678-872-4237
Paulding	678-946-1007
Text Us!	706-438-4168

ENGL 1102 - Minor (Floyd) - Spring 2025: Databases (Galileo)

Databases

Galileo Discover

General Databases

Periodicals

Subject Databases