GALILEO Databases (Articles & more) - ENGL 1102 - Davidson (Online) Fall 2022

GALILEO Databases & More

Remember that you need three to four peer-reviewed articles
Remember that you need one source from anywhere in GALILEO

The big search box below is called GALILEO Discover and searches a little bit of everything. Be aware, that it is a blunt tool.

For Example:

If you know you want psychology articles, you should go directly Databases by Subject on the GALILEO homepage to find a list of Psychology databases/online collections. (Look beneath the search box.)

If you are researching current events or breaking news, trying going to Database by Type to look for Newspaper Databases. (Look beneath the search box.)

Search for articles and more in databases @ GALILEO:

Go to: GALILEO | Databases by Subject | Find a Journal | All Databases A-Z

Special e-Book collections: Popular reading @ Overdrive | Health sciences resources @ R2

Guide to popular reading in print: Poptitles

Search for videos and images in GALILEO databases:

Choose a Database

Go to: Streaming Video @ Kanopy

GALILEO has developed a tool that allows you to search multiple sources and the library catalog at once. (You can try it out in the search box above.)

Things you should know:

It does not include all databases.
It automatically searches within the full text of articles, but not books.
It includes information on print resources, including books and DVDs.
Advanced Search lets you narrow by discipline and assists you with more complex searching.

Subject Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.

I selected some subject databases based on the topics you chose:

ABI/INFORM Archive This link opens in a new window
Economics and Business.
AGRICOLA (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Everything related to agriculture. Animals, plants, etc.
Arts and Humanities This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Business Collection This link opens in a new window
All business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
Economics & Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers.
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Computing is the premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes over 430 titles, with over 350 available in full text, covering topics from A.I. to software.
Contemporary Womens Issues This link opens in a new window
Content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, etc.
ERIC (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Everything Education. K-12 & Higher Ed.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
From sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Environmental studies.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics.
Latin America And The Caribbean Regional Portal This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.
MEDLINE with Full Text (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The place to search for medical research.
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection This link opens in a new window
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Political Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Political science and international relations journals.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Psychology Journals includes 4,000 full-text dissertations representing a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics, and social psychology. Dissertation content is available for the years spanning 2000 through 2006.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology articles.
Public Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ideal starting point for public health information. Covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of hundreds of medical, nursing, and allied health books. Includes related videos.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of hundreds of medical, nursing, and allied health books. Includes related videos.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Resource for the study of religious issues and perspectives
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of full-text journal articles and abstracts for journals in the sciences with coverage from 1900-present
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides information on hundreds of topics, including: addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations, etc.

Find a specific Journal or Newspaper in Find A Journal.

Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications.
Nursing and Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. It also provides evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI).
Public Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ideal starting point for public health information. Covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Campus Research is a legal research database that provides an array of interconnected primary and analytical law content to help students get a more complete understanding of the issue they are studying. It includes access to federal and state caselaw, statutes, and regulations
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, with coverage starting in 1995. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers as well as full-text television & radio news transcripts.

Databases

Still figuring out your topic? Start Here:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Whether you're writing a critical essay, researching a report or term paper, or preparing for a debate, or you just want to be better informed, you'll find a variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia in Opposing Viewpoints in Context.

Find Peer-Reviewed Articles In:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire database is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for academic research. It provides indexing to over 17,000 journals with more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,500 in full-text covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Provided by Georgia Highlands College Libraries
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.

ENGL 1102 - Davidson (Online) Fall 2022: GALILEO Databases (Articles & more)

Subject Databases

Databases