Skip to main content

FCCS 1100 - Capstone Project - Online: GALILEO

Suggested GALILEO Databases

GALILEO

GALILEO Discover is a fantastic resource for finding reliable, credible articles to back up arguments in your paper.  It searches 100+ GALILEO databases at one time and is a good starting place to find out what articles might be available on any topic. 


These databases are specifically related to career information.  Consider searching these in addition to the GALILEO Discovery search.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center - Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 55,000 resource entries, and much more!  This is a GHC supplied database and you'll need to enter your GHC username/password (the same one you use to logon to school computers) to access it from home.

Career & Technical Education - This database includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information.

Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.

The "CRAAP" Test

Are My Sources CRAAP?

Remember: All information sources are NOT created equal!!

Weekly World News   VS   Journal of Experimental Biology

 

 

The CRAAP Test helps you evaluate the quality and relevance of any information you are considering for your research assignment. Keep this test in mind when considering the inclusion of any source - whether print, online or other media - in your assignment.

Currency

  • The timeliness (publication date, revision history) of the information.

Relevance

  • Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
  • Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
  • Would you be comfortable citing this source in your research paper?

Authority

  • The source (author, publisher, sponsor) of the information.
  • Check for contact information and the credentials of the author.

Accuracy

  • The reliability (source, evidence, truthfulness) of the information.
  • Think about the source and look for evidence of bias or error.

Purpose

  • The reason (teach, sell, entertain) the information exists.
  • Identify the type of information (fact or opinion) and the intent of the author.
Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.915.5010 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007 | Douglasville Library - 678.872.4237
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com