LibGuides: Biology 2154: Library Resources

Books

Books are often large and tend to be more thorough than a ten-page article. Use them when you feel like you need a "bigger picture."

Quick & Easy

Ebooks - Choose Full Access Online on the side menu. Link is sample search.
Books Cartersville (GIL-Find) - Choose Cartersville Library on the side menu. Link is sample search.

More Choices

(Takes a day to about a week)

Other GHC Libraries (GIL-Find) - Login and look for the Get It Tab: Request. Link is sample search.
Instructions

Other Georgia Institutions (GIL-Express) Instructions - Choose University System of Georgia in search box. Login and look for the Get it Tab: Request. Link is sample search.
Instructions.

I can't find this book anywhere

World Cat - Find book and fill out Inter-Library Loan Form. Link is sample search.

GALILEO: Articles & More

Discover GALILEO

This search is a blunt tool. Use it to start and then move on.
Remember to check the peer-review and full-text boxes!

Use Subject Databases

For fine-tuning searches and eliminating irrelevant topics. Go to Databases AZ and Search By Subject: Science & Technology.

Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Farming, horticulture, new research.
AGRICOLA (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. Department of Agriculture
Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Focused on Biology Journals
Agriculture & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Environmental Sciences.
GREENR (Global Reference On The Environment/Energy/And Natural Resources) This link opens in a new window
Ecology, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A high-quality, interdisciplinary archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals.
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Biology is covered along with other physical sciences.

No full-text? Fill out our inter-library loan form.

Key Terms

Good search terms = better results
Bad search terms = bad results

Be Specific

If you are a searching for a habit, consider Ocean. Atlantic. Pacific. Fresh Water. Rivers. Lakes. Continent. Country. State.
Think like a cave man. No full sentences. Put phrases in quotation marks. For example: "comb jelly."
Consider jargon and audience. If you need peer-reviewed articles, use search terms you find from those articles.

Subject Terms

You tag pictures. Articles are often tagged with subject headings. These can be useful when you need to expand a search or narrow a broad topic. Clicking a subject heading will run a new search. Example Search. Example Screenshot.

Pay Attention to options in Side Menus and Search Boxes

MIT Libraries has a nice guide if you want to learn more.
Remember to use "Full-Text" and "Peer-Review" check boxes.

Boolean Operators

Use AND, OR, and NOT to combine search terms. Remember your order of operations when using parentheses. You can get pretty complicated.
Example: "vase stinker sponge" OR "Ircinia campana"

Biology 2154: Library Resources