Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Native Species Research Guide
Free online resources
All About Birds by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology
A free online bird database by the Cornell University Lab of Ornithology.
Chattahoochee Nature Center Animal Facts
PDF Fact Sheets for approximately two dozen animal species native to Georgia.
Georgia DNR Animal and Plant Information
Georgia Department of Natural Resources Wildlife Resources Division fact sheets on animal species found in Georgia, by taxonomic group.
Georgia DNR Rare Species and Natural Community Data
Georgia Department of Natural Resources Wildlife Resources Division fact sheets on rare species, by taxonomic group.
GeorgiaInfo is an online almanac part of the Galileo system of resources. This page provides information on amphibians, birds, fish, invertebrates, mammals, and reptiles in Georgia, with further links to information on Georgia birds and reptiles in the New Georgia Encyclopedia.
NOAA Fisheries Species List
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration provides species fact sheets on the marine species that fall in the areas of their research and protection.
UM Animal Diversity Web database
Animal Diveristy Web (ADW) is online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology. This is a project by the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology and is supported by the National Science Foundation.
USFWS Georgia Ecological Services Threatened and Endangered Species
The Georgia Ecological Services Field Offices of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services (USFWS) has complied this list of 62 federally threatened or endangered species of plants and animals for which Georgia provides a habitat.
USGS Wildlife Program
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) conducts research on migratory birds, terrestrial and marine mammals, threatened and endangered species, wildlife disease, terrestrial plants, and amphibians.
A list of USGS and other government resources related to zoology.
Credo Reference is a full-text online reference collection that includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of the world's best reference publishers. Credo's collection includes millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
Encyclopædia Britannica database includes thousands of articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including thousands more that are not found in the print set. The resource also includes year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks, The Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Most articles are brief or of moderate length and discuss people, places, institutions, things, or concepts. Longer articles are divided into separate sections for easier access and more accurate searching.
The award-winning, redesigned Science Online offers students and researchers a wealth of comprehensive content and a dynamic design that facilitates STEM research and learning. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines to help users find a starting point for their research, and users can also access the full, updated content of our unique science eLearning Modules, which target a variety of core topics and feature valuable Educator Support materials for seamless in-class integration.