Skip to main content

African-American Literature Topic Guide: Websites & Videos

Websites

Lit2Go - African-American Literature
This collection of children's literature is a part of the Educational Technology Clearinghouse and is funded by various grants.Copyright © 2006—2015 by the Florida Center for Instructional Technology, College of Education, University of South Florida

Library of Southern Literature - Black Literature

From: Wilson, Charles Reagan, and William Ferris, eds., Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, Chapel Hill, N.C.: University of North Carolina Press, 1989. Used by permission of the publisher.  URL: http://docsouth.unc.edu/southlit/blacklit.html  © Copyright 2004 by the University Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

New World Encyclopedia - African American Literature
"African American literature." New World Encyclopedia, . 29 Aug 2012, 21:20 UTC. 6 Oct 2015, 20:19 <http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/p/index.php?title=African_American_literature&oldid=963427>.

History Channel - Black Women in Art and Literature
© 2015, A&E Television Networks, LLC

Voice of the Shuttle:  Minority Literatures - African American

VoS is woven by Alan Liu and a development team in the U.California, Santa Barbara, English Department.

PBS Online - Literature & Life

A learning companion to Literature & Life: The Givens Collection.

Video Databases

American History in Video

  • Coverage Dates: Ongoing
  • Update Frequency: Ongoing

American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with over 1,000 hours of video from more than 4,100 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video library that allows you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from more than 6,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection. Faculty can easily share playlists with students via email or incorporate them into their online learning environment.

Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.915.5010 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007 | Douglasville Library - 678.872.4237
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com