Research Help

Basic research information at your fingertips!

Chicago Manual of Style Examples

Here are a few common examples!

Academic Journals

Source

Citation

Library database

Database record that offers a permanent link:

Maiben, William. “A Tombeau for John Lennon, 1940-1980.” Perspectives of New Music 19, nos 1/2 (Autumn 1980-Summer 1981): 533. Accessed September 5, 2009. http://www.jstor.org/stable/832614.

Database record that does not offer a permanent link: Use database name and document ID or accession number.

Pantelli, Niki and Robert Tucker. "Power and Trust in Global Virtual Teams." Communications of the ACM 52, no. 12 (2009): 113-115. Accessed April 20, 2010. Business Source Complete (45580320).

Free Web

Article with a DOI:

Charles, Patrick G. P. et al. “SMART-COP: A Tool for Predicting the Need for Intensive Respiratory or Vasopressor Support in Community-Acquired Pneumonia.” Clinical Infectious Diseases 47 (August 1, 2008): 377. Accessed July 17, 2009. doi:10.1086/589754.

Article without a DOI: Use URL.

Hlatky, Mark A., Derek Boothroyd, Eric Vittinghoff, Penny Sharp, and Mary A. Whooley. "Quality-of-Life and Depressive Symptoms in Postmenopausal Women after Receiving Hormone Therapy: Results from the Heart and Estrogen/Progestin Replacement Study (HERS) Trial." Journal of the American Medical Association 287, no. 5 (2002). Accessed November 15, 2006. http://jama.ama-assn.org/issues/v287n5/rfull/joc10108.html#aainfo.

In print

Bibliographic entry:

Smith, John Maynard. "The Origin of Altruism." Nature 393 (1998): 639.

 

 

Newspapers

 

Source

Citation

Library database

Database record that offers a permanent link:

"Avoiding Another 'Slam-Dunk'." The Washington Post, May 24, 2006. Accessed November 3, 2007. http://proquest.umi.com.ezproxy.umuc.edu/pqdweb?did=1041165271&sid=1&Fmt=3&clientId=8724&RQT=309&VName=PQD.

Database record that does not offer a permanent link: Use database name and document ID or accession number.

de Lisser, Eleena. "Update on Small Business: Firms With Virtual Environments Appeal to Workers." Wall Street Journal, October 5, 1999. Accessed September 30, 2008. ProQuest Newspapers (45315145).

Free Web

Include the URL (or DOI if available) at the end of the citation.

Stolberg, Sheryl Gay and Robert Pear. “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote.” New York Times, February 27, 2010. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.

In print

Niederkorn, William S."A Scholar Recants on His 'Shakespeare' Discovery." New York Times, June 20, 2002, Arts section, Midwest edition.

 

 

Books

Source

Citation

Basic book

Doniger, Wendy. Splitting the Difference. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1999.

Edited or translated book

Lattimore, Richard, trans. The Iliad of Homer. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1951.

Numbered edition other than the first

Gowers, Ernest. The Complete Plain Words, 3rd ed. London: H. M. Stationary Office, 1986; Harmondsworth, UK: Penguin Books, 1987. Citations are to the Penguin edition.

Revised edition

Barzun, Jacques. Simple and Direct: A Rhetoric for Writers. Rev. ed. 1985. Reprint, Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1994.

Multi-volume set

Wright, Sewell. Evolution and the Genetics of Populations, vol. 2, Theory of Gene Frequencies. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1969.

Chapter or article in an anthology

Wiese, Andrew."'The House I Live In': Race, Class, and African American Suburban Dreams in the Postwar United States." In The New Suburban History, edited by Kevin M. Kruse and Thomas J. Sugrue . Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2006.

 

 


E-Books

Source

Citation

Library database

Davenport, Thomas H. and John C. Beck. The Attention Economy: Understanding the New Currency of Business. Harvard Business School Press, 2001. Accessed January 4, 2011. NetLibrary e-book.

Free Web

E-book with a DOI:

Antokoletz, Elliot. Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartok. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. Accessed March 10, 2010. doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.

E-Book without a DOI:
Use the URL.

Kurland, Philip B. and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders’ Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

 

 

Web Sites

Source

Citation

Web Sites

If the Web site has a date:

Google. “Google Privacy Policy.” Last modified March 11, 2009. Accessed July 13, 2009. http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.

If no date is found:
Just use the accessed date rather than (n.d.) for no date.

McDonald’s Corporation. “McDonald’s Happy Meal Toy Safety Facts.” Accessed July 19, 2008. http://www.mcdonalds.com/corp/about/factsheets.html.

 

 

Images

Source

CItation

Image

A brief statement of the source of an illustration, known as a credit line, is usually appropriate and sometimes mandatory.

(Cartoon by John Leech. "Punch's Almanac for 1855," Punch 28 [1855]: 8.)

 

 

Thanks to the University of Maryland University College Library for permission to use their examples! 

Citations

 Your campus librarian will be glad to help you use the CMS book or you can access a quick guide HERE, published by the CMS staff.  Another great citation resource is the Purdue OWL!

Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.915.5010 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007 | Douglasville Library - 678.872.4237
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com