Skip to main content

Nutrition Resources Topic Guide: GHC Databases

Galileo Resources - Consumer Health

Use these Galileo databases to find health information.

Alt HealthWatch

 

 

 

 

Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text content comes from more than 180 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.

Shields on a light blue background

 

 

 

 

Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.

White initals GVRL on dark blue background

 

 

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library
An eBook collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for research.Browse by subject, search by collection or by individual title. Download PDF to your eReader is available. These books will also show up if you search our catalog.

Health Reference Center

Health Reference Center
Health Reference Center includes more than 585 educational videos on a wide range of health topics; more than 1,000 searchable and browsable color illustrations; and a Health in the News section with regularly updated health news articles.

Merck Manual Logo: White letters on blue background

Merk Manual for Patients & Caregivers
These manuals have been standard medical reference sources for over 100 years
providing detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion
of symptoms and current therapy.

Medical Cross made to look like a doctor
    

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative, consumer-focused information from
The National Library of Medicine (NLM),the National Institutes of Health (NIH),
and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus
includes extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated
medical encyclopedia, videos, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest
health news.

Salem Health

 

 

 

 

Salem Health
Salem Health brings online access to Salem Press' award-winning health reference works. The first reference set included is Salem Press' best-selling Magill's Medical Guide. In its printed form, the current edition of the Guide is six volumes and 3,500 pages. Even better, the purchase of the printed set entitles a school or library to free online access to the Medical Guide's content.

Database Use Info

For information on using these GALILEO databases click here
Library Resources:  Databases

Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.915.5010 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007 | Douglasville Library - 678.872.4237
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com