Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Resources: Websites

Become more familiar with the databases and library resources for nursing.

TRIP

Try out TRIP. It's a clinical search engine. Not all of the articles on here are free, so look to see if we have it available in Journals A-Z in Galileo. If you need help, see Finding a Journal.

Other Sources

BioMed Central
An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 243 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals.

The Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.  Without a subscription we have free access to two-page abstracts of all Cochrane Reviews and to short plain-language summaries of selected articles.

DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Focused primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organisation of health services.  The database also includes reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health.

Drug Information Portal (for professionals)
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information, from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.

EBP Tutorial
This tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Practice.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Institute of Education Sciences, US Department of Education.  Bibliographic database including >1.3 million citations to journal articles and other education-related materials going back to 1969.  Limited Availability of Full-Text Documents.

Lippincott's Nursing Center
An electronic Bulletin Board Service created by nurses, for nurses, which provides credible, current, authoritative, evidence-based resources.

Medscape
Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools. After a simple, 1-time, free registration, Medscape from WebMD automatically delivers to you a personalized specialty site that best fits your registration profile.

NN/LM Web Sampler for Nursing on the Net
The National Network of Libraries of Medicine comprehensive list of useful links for the field of nursing.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
NGC, an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, provides physicians and other health professionals with an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines.

PubMed
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).  It is comprised of over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
       Directory of Topic-Specific PubMed Queries
       Pre-built query filters for various topics.

Science.gov
Searches over 45 databases and 2,000 websites from 14 federal agencies, offering
authoritative US government science information, including research and development results.

Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library
The VHL repository is an open-access digital service that collects, preserves, and freely disseminates nursing related research materials in both abstract-only and full-text format.

Websites

Here are a few websites to browse. Remember to think critically when pulling information from the Internet!

How to Evaluate Materials

Remember the following criteria as you evaluate print and online sources:

CARS 

C = Credibility

         Authorship/Editor

         Peer review

         Publisher, if no author

A = Accuracy

        Audience

        Currency, last update

        Error free

        Comprehensive

        How does it compare to other sources

R = Reasonableness

        Objectivity/Bias

        Agendas

S = Support

        References

        Corroboration

        Documentation

For electronic sources, including websites:

      URL endings, such as .com, .edu., gov., .org

      Technical requirements

      Ease of NavigationPink photograph of car

      Links    

 

Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.872.8501 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com