Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Resources: GALILEO=Databases=Articles

Become more familiar with the databases and library resources for nursing.

Books Box Table of Contents

Galileo Resources - Mostly Articles

If you need peer-reviewed articles, these are the databases you should use. Try more than one. Some of our databases contain different journals. You may be able to find something in one that you you didn't in another other. 

START HERE: You will probably use these 3 databases the most!

CINAHL Complete
Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary 
medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. 

Find books, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, legal cases,
clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Video Tutorial
Help Page
ProQuest Logo ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, 
alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Includes evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). These include Systematic Reviews,
Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets.
Video Tutorial
Help Page
EBSCO icon MEDLINE w/ Full Text
The National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of 
articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields 
of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and 
preclinical sciences.
Video Tutorial
Help Page

 

EBSCO icon Alt Health Watch
Covers complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Full-text content comes from more than 180 international peer-reviewed and professional
journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters,
plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.


 
EBSCO icon Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Includes scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical
disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.


 
EBSCO icon Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics,
psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational
& experimental methods.

  
EBSCO icon

PsycINFO
American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of
scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations,
is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral
science and mental health. The database also includes information about
the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry,
nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics,
anthropology, business, law, and others.
Journal coverage spans from 1887 to present. Video Tutorial

 

Image of a colorful pie chart Bepress Digital Commons
Open access database for scholarship that is curated by university librarians
and their supporting institutions, representing thousands of disciplines
and subject areas from architecture to zoology. It includes scholarship from
hundreds of universities and colleges, including peer-reviewed journal articles,
book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings,
and other original scholarly work.

Galileo Resources - Mostly Reference

If you need to look something up, or want a more general summary of a topic, try the the databases listed below. If you just want an overview, you may want to avoid databases that include mainly research articles (like those listed above.)  Instead, look for encyclopedias, dictionaries, books, and reference databases. 

R2

R2 Digital Library
Includes hundreds of medical, nursing, and allied health books. If you create a free 
a
ccount, you can build a bookshelf of the images and books you use the most.

Merck Manual Logo: White letters on blue background

Merk Manual for Patients & Caregivers
These manuals have been standard medical reference sources for over 100 years
providing detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion
of symptoms and current therapy.

 

Salem Health Logo Salem Health
Access to the following books: Cancer, Complementary & Alternative Medicine,
Genetics & Inherited Diseases,Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Magill's Medical Guide,
Psychology & Mental Health. These titles will also show up if you search for them in the
online book catalog, GIL.

 

Galileo Resources - Consumer Health/Patient Teaching

These databases are aimed at giving the public quality health information. They can be helpful for teaching your patients, or for giving yourself a quick overview of a topic. The primary focus of these database is on translating medical topics into an understandable language, but keep in mind that CINAHL, and Health Source: Nursing provide patient education materials as well.

Shields on a light blue background

Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from
many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as
well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream
medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.


 

White initals GVRL on dark blue background

Gale Virtual Reference Library
an eBook collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for
research.Browse by subject, search by collection or by individual title. Download PDF
to your eReader is available.

Health Reference Center Health Reference Center
Health Reference Center includes more than 585 educational videos on a wide range
of health topics; more than 1,000 searchable and browsable color illustrations; and a
Health in the News section with regularly updated health news articles. 

 
Merck Manual Logo: White letters on blue background Merk Manual for Patients & Caregivers
These manuals have been standard medical reference sources for over 100 years
providing detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion
of symptoms and current therapy.

 
Medical Cross made to look like a doctor
    
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative, consumer-focused information from
The National Library of Medicine (NLM),the National Institutes of Health (NIH),
and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus
includes extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated
medical encyclopedia, videos, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest
health news.

 

Full Text & Inter Library Loan (ILL)

Do Not Use the Full-Text Check Box!
If you use the full-text check box, you are limited to only articles available through the vendor who hosts the databases (Ebsco).  The GHC Library subscribes to many more journal titles than
they give us access to.  However, Do Use the Full-Text Check Box if you get a large number of results and want to quickly access articles.

Finding Full-Text Articles
If you find an article without full-text access, open another tab and begin a second GALILEO session.  Click on Journals A-Z found under the search box to the right.  Copy the name of the journal from your article citation (found after the list of authors) and paste it into the Journals A-Z search box - choose the 'exact' radio-button  and then search.  The results will tell you whether we have full-text access to that journal or not.

Still No Full-Text?
If there is no "(full-text)" next to the journal title or the title does not appear in the list, we can still get the article for you.  Fill out this inter-library loan form by copying and pasting the information requested for each box and submit it.  Inter-library loan articles are usually sent to your email account fairly quickly.

 

Search Tips

Are you searching in the right place?

  • Do you need a book or an article? 
  • Are you in the right datatabase?
    • PsychINFO v. ProQuest Newspapers
  • This "Search Strategies" page can get you started.

 

What  words are you plugging into the search box?

  • Think of how many ways to say the same thing and search for those terms
    • Consider: slang, jargon, time period, geography, politics
  • The PICO model may help you structure your search
    • Person/Problem 
      Intervention 
      Comparison 
      Outcome

 

Take full advantage of Database Features and Advanced Search

  • Different databases will have different features 
    • For example: CINAHL will let you limit your results by author as nurse
  • Look at the drop down menus
    • Are you looking for an author, journal, title etc? These are particular helpful if need re-find that article you forgot to cite...
  • Use AND and OR to refine your search. Short explanation here.

 

Use CINAHL & MeSH Headings

  • This is a fancy way of saying that someone has looked at an article and has decided it about topic X. 
    • For example, using the CINAHL heading "Myocardial Infarction" will search for articles with both "myocardial infarction" and "heart attack." 

CTRL + F

  • If you are looking for something specific, using the "find" feature can help you sort through articles more quickly.

Ask for Help

  • Look for the "Help" button. Some databases are more helpful than others, but you can often find video tutorials and search tips.
  • Youtube. Librarians love to post "how-to" videos about library databases. A quick search could save you a lot of time.  
  • Ask your librarian. 

Play

  • The worst thing that can happen is that you get 0 results.
  • It's less stressfull to search for something you want or need, than for an assignment. You'll learn along the way.

How to find the Galileo Password

Get the Galileo Password

Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.872.8501 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com