Skip to main content

Electronic Resources for Classic Literature: Finding E-Books

Free eBook Collections

Some great places to look for free, legal and safe (remember, many free sites contain computer viruses, so beware!!) ebooks on the Internet.

Find EVEN MORE eBooks in Google Book Search

You can find even MORE books on Google's Book Search!

Many of these books are restricted, and will only allow you to view a small portion of the text . . . but if you decide it's a book you want to get your hands on, remember that your GHC Libraries can borrow a copy of almost any book in the world from another library!

You'll also find that Google's Book Search will provide access to the full text of many books, so be sure to explore it.

Here's a super-secret library tip -- you can configure Google Book Search and Google Scholar to mesh with our GHC Library databases . . . so if you find something interesting on Google, but it's restricted, you may still be able to get to the full text through GALILEO.  Click here for the full scoop!

Search for books, ebooks, DVDs, periodicals, and more @ GHC or other libraries:
 
   
 

Go to: Advanced Search @ GHC  |  e-Book Help Guide

Special e-Book collections: Popular reading @ Overdrive  |  Health sciences resources @ R2

Loading ...

GIL @GHC

E-Book

Where's the first place to look for eBooks?  Why, the Library Catalog, of course!

 

Here's a tip: When you do a search, look for the Format Limiter for "Electronic."  Choosing this option will limit your results to eBooks.

 

Almost all of the eBooks in GIL-Find may be downloaded to an eReader!

Find MORE eBooks in GALILEO

GALILEO has an entire category of databases devoted to Books, E-Books, and Book Reviews.


Here are a few specific recommendations:

Book Collection: Nonfiction Book Collection: Nonfiction from EBSCO Publishing, contains abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,000 popular nonfiction books for youth on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills, and more.

E-Books Index (FirstSearch) includes records for more than 675,000 eBooks.  Includes free resources that are available in the public domain from education, government, and commercial Web sites.

eBooks on EBSCOhost provides access to reference books, scholarly monographs, publications of many university presses, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. It is possible to perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online.  Most of the eBooks collection is available for checkout and download to your computer or eReader.
Ebrary ebrary College Complete provides online access to the full text of more than 25,000 books. Advanced features allow students and faculty to search the full text of all books; highlight text and take notes; create a customized bookshelf to save and organize research; print pages and copy and paste text; manage, archive, and share research. 
Georgia Historic Books, from the Digital Library of Georgia, contains full-text, fully searchable books related to Georgia's history and culture. Most are from the 19th to early 20th century and focus on Georgia history, biography, and literature.
Georgia History Ebooks (University of Georgia Press) includes early and seminal works on Georgia's history and culture, many published in the 1950s and 1960s that have long been out of print. Users also have the option of ordering print copies of these titles from the University of Georgia Press.
The OverDrive digital library is a website that allows patrons 24/7 online access to a digital collection of eBooks, audiobooks, and video. Titles are selected from a vast catalog of hundreds of thousands of titles. Patrons browse the collection and check out titles online, and read in the browser with OverDrive Read, read on a Kindle device or within Kindle apps (U.S. only), or download to a wide variety of devices.
R2 Digital Library provides over 3000 high-quality eBooks in the areas of medicine, nursing, and allied health.

 
 
 
 
Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.915.5010 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007 | Douglasville Library - 678.872.4237
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com