Skip to main content

Theater Subject Guide: Databases!

The Theater Appreciation Guide was created for students in THEA 1100.

Recommended Databases

From GALILEO, you can access and search the databases to find articles on your topic!  See a librarian for more research, or try your hand at searching any of the databases listed below! 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, offering full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.  In addition to full text for more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

The Blues, Black Vaudeville, and the Silver Screen, 1912-1930s consists of selected correspondence, financial records, contracts, and advertising materials from the theater's records found in the Charles Henry Douglass, Jr. business records at the Middle Georgia Archives, which document the amusements available to Macon's African American population, and the business dealings of this African American entrepreneur from 1912 to the 1930s.

Credo Reference is a full-text online reference collection that includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of the world's best reference publishers. Credo's collection includes millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video library that allows you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from more than 6,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection. Faculty can easily share playlists with students via email or incorporate them into their online learning environment.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text includes full-text articles and books for those studying theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD since 1984.

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire database is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

The MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.

Theatre In Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Writer's Reference Center provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively. From the mechanics of writing and grammar to style and research, this resource thoroughly covers the fundamentals of quality writing and provides a wealth of vocabulary-building reference dictionaries. WRC covers numerous thematic areas, explaining the roots of words, phrases, allusions, clichés, proverbs, and more. An in-depth grammar section defines grammatical terms and gives examples of use, while another section explains the meaning and usage of frequently confused words. Writing resources teach users how best to write and revise their work. Users can easily find resources on specific grammar and style issues or can lead themselves through the guides to gain a better understanding of larger concepts.

Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.915.5010 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007 | Douglasville Library - 678.872.4237
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com