Skip to Main Content

HSCI 3515 - Henderson (Online) - Spring 2024

APA 7

APA

Use this page to learn, find help citing your sources, and setting up your papers in APA.

APA 7 (American Psychological Society)  is the citation style you will use to format your papers and cite your sources. This is the common citation style for scholarly communication in the Social Sciences, Dental Hygiene, and Nursing. If you are more familiar with MLA or Chicago, know that APA will require the same sort of information, just re-arranged slightly.

APA Page Walkthrough

This video will walk you through how to use this page.

APA Resources

GHC APA CERTIFICATION

A wax seal

This GHC tutorial will teach the basics of formatting your paper, citing, and creating references.

APA 7 RESOURCE CENTER

A stack of books

Find references and examples to follow for a perfect APA paper.

APA Style Blog

APA Style logo

A great FAQ style page to handle the odds and ends questions for APA.

APA Advice from your librarians

Advice from your librarians

We proofread a lot of references, and based on that, we recommend that you:

  • Identify your source type first before you cite. Remember, Wikipedia is an encyclopedia. Most sources on PubMed are journal articles.
  • Have set of good examples for proof reading. See the APA 7 Resource Center to start, but find your favorite.
  • Take full advantages of short-cuts, such as the citations in GALILEO, or ZoteroBib, but make sure you've done the steps above. Incorrect Info In = Incorrect Reference Out.

6e Citations APA Journal Article

APA Journal Article Citation 

For those who prefer plain text over graphics, let's go over the information element by element. 

Author(s). 

Usually listed on the first page of an article 

List author names in same order as listed on the first page of the article. 

2 to 20 authors: Separate authors with a comma and use “&” before the last author. 

More than 20 authors: List first 19, insert ellipsis, and final author’s name. 

Format is Last Name, Initials. Place period after final author’s initials. 

Example: Lee, J. R. 

Example: Lee, J. R. Brown, G. & Smith, L. 

(Publication Date). 

Usually listed on the first page of an article or in the margins 

Place year of publication in parentheses. 

Place period after closing parentheses. 

Example: (2023). 

Article title.  

On title page or first page of article 

Write title in sentence case. 

Only Capitalize: First word of the title first word after punctuation proper nouns. 

Do not use italics. 

Put a period at the end of the title. 

Example: How to use APA in college: A student’s guide. 

Journal Title

Usually listed on title page or in the margins of the page 

Use name of journal shown on work (abbreviations might be listed). Do not abbreviate it yourself. 

Write title in Title Case. Capitalize most words. Place in italics.  

Use lower case for: Words of three letters or less, except the first word of the title or first word of subtitle. 

Place a comma after the journal name, but do not italicize it. 

Example: Journal of Student Success

Volume(issue #). 

Usually listed on the title page or the margins of the pages 

Italicize the volume number. Do not italicize the issue number.  

Place issue number in parentheses. Do not include a space between vol. & issue.  

Place comma after closing the parentheses around the issue number. 

If no issue number is available, omit it and place comma after volume number. 

Example: 10(4). 

Example: 7,

Page Range. 

Usually listed on the title page, first page, or last page of the article 

Include full page range of the article. No italics.  

Do not include page abbreviations such as p., pp., or pg. 

Separate numbers in page range with en dash (-). Place period after second page number. 

Article #, no page #: Write the word “Article” and then the article number followed by a period.

Example: 15 - 23. 

Example: Article 10023. 

DOI or URL 

Usually listed on the title page, first page, or last page of the article  

Use DOI, if available. Use the URL if the article was found online but not in a database. 

If the article comes from an academic database and does not have a DOI, do not include a url.  

Copy and paste the URL or DOI directly from your browser. 

Do not place a period after the URL or DOI or write “Retrieved from” before URL or DOI.  

Example: https://doi.org/10.1111/a0011111

Example: https//www.journal.com

Reference List Entry Example:

Author, A. A. (Date). Article title. Journal Title, Vol.(Issue #). Page range. DOI or URL 

Lee, J. R. (2023). How to use APA in college: A student’s guide. Journal of Student Success, 10(4). 15-23. https://doi.org/10.1111/a0011111 

6e Citations APA Webpage

APA Webpage Citation 

For those who prefer plain text over graphics, let's go over the information element by element. 

Author(s). 

Usually listed on the first page of an article 

List author names in same order as listed on the webpage.  List Govt. or group authors as written. 

2 to 20 authors: Separate authors with a comma and use “&” before the last author. 

More than 20 authors: List first 19, insert ellipsis, and final author’s name. 

Place period after final author’s initials or final group author. 

Example: Lee, J.R. 

Example: Department of Statistics. 

(Publication Date).  

Usually listed near the top or bottom of the page. 

Place year of publication in parentheses. 

Place period after closing parentheses. 

Example: (2023). 

Webpage title

Usually listed at the top of the webpage. 

Write title in sentence case. 

Only Capitalize: First word of the title, first word after punctuation, and proper nouns. 

Place in italics. 

Put a period at the end of the title. 

Example: APA use among college students in 2022

Publisher, 

Usually listed near the bottom of the page or is the name of the website 

Use name of website shown on webpage. Do not abbreviate it yourself. Leave blank if same as author. 

Write title in Title Case. Capitalize most words.  

Lower Case: words of three letters or less, except the first word of the title or first word of subtitle.  

Place a comma after the publisher’s name.

Example: Higher Education Daily,   

URL 

Listed in the browser search bar, stable URLs listed near authors and date when available 

Use DOI, if available. Use the URL if the article was found online, but not in a database. 

If the article comes from an academic database and does not have a DOI, do not include a URL.  

Copy and paste the URL or DOI directly from your browser. 

Do not place a period after the URL or DOI or write “Retrieved from” before URL or DOI. 

Example: https://doi.org/10.1111/a0011111  

Example: https//www.highereddaily.com 

Reference List Entry Examples: 

Author, A. A. (Date). Webpage title. Publisher, DOI or URL 

Department of Statistics. (2023). APA use among College Students in 2022. Higher Education Daily, https//www.highereddaily.com 

6e Citations APA Book

APA Book Citation 

For those who prefer plain text over graphics, let's go over the information element by element. 

Author(s).  

Usually listed on the cover and the title page of the book 

List author names in same order as listed on the book.  

2 to 20 authors: Separate authors with a comma and use “&” before the last author. 

More than 20 authors: List first 19, insert ellipsis, and final author’s name. 

Format is Last Name, Initials. Place period after final author’s initials. 

Example: Lee, J. R. 

Example: Lee, J. R. Brown, G. & Smith, L. 

(Publication Date). 

Usually listed on the backside of the title page. 

Place year of publication in parentheses. 

Place period after closing parentheses. 

Example: (2023). 

Book title

Listed on the cover and title page.  

Use name of book shown on work. Do not abbreviate it yourself. 

Write title in sentence case. Capitalize most words. Place in italics.  

Lower Case: words of three letters or less, except the first word of the title or first word of subtitle.  

Place a period after the book title, but do not italicize it. 

Example: Mastering APA Style. 

Publisher. 

Usually listed on the title page or the backside of the title page.  

Use name of publisher listed in book. 

Write in Title Case. Capitalize most words. Do not place in italics.  

Lower Case: words of three letters or less, except the first word of the title or first word of subtitle.  

Place a period after the publisher name. 

Example: Student Publishing. 

DOI or URL 

Usually on the first few pages of the book near the copyright information. Check the bibliographic record if found in a database.

Use DOI, if available. Use the URL if the article was found online, but not in a database. 

When citing a print book, leave this element out of the citation.  

Copy and paste the URL or DOI directly from your browser. 

Do not place a period after the URL or DOI or write “Retrieved from” before URL or DOI.

Example: https://doi.org/10.1111/a0011111

Example: https//www.journal.com 

Reference List Entry Examples:

Author, A.A., (Date). Book title. Publisher. DOI or URL 

Lee, J.R. (2023). Mastering APA style in college. Student Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1111/a0011111 

©2023 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com