READ ME FIRST!!!!
There are some important things you need to know about articles and databases.
GALILEO is chock-full of information, but some of its contents would not be appropriate for college-level work. For example, you would never want to use the following in any assignment requiring scholarly or peer-reviewed sources:
Why do I point this out? Because these kinds of results can often appear in your searches, and you need to be able to recognize them.
For book reviews, look in the first few sentences for things like a book title with an author, or phrases like "this is a review of the book Blah Blah Blah" Sometimes in the basic citation link - even before you click into it - you will see the words "book review". Just say NO!
Encyclopedia and dictionary entries are even easier to spot. Look at the citation link for the words "encyclopedia" or "dictionary."
All this is to remind you to PAY ATTENTION to what you're reading! If you make sure you have excellent sources right from the start, you'll have a much easier time when you get down to writing your paper.
| Search for articles and more in databases @ GALILEO: |
|
Go to: GALILEO | Databases by Subject | Find a Journal | All Databases A-Z |
| Search for books, ebooks, DVDs, periodicals, and more @ GHC or other libraries: |
|
Go to: Advanced Search @ GHC | e-Book Help Guide Special e-Book collections: Popular reading @ Overdrive | Health sciences resources @ R2 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
GALILEO is a collection of databases provided by GHC and the University System of Georgia.
A DATABASE is searchable collection of online subscription resources (journals, images, videos, and sometimes whole books); usually material that is not available through free search engines like Google
A JOURNAL is a regularly published "magazine", usually related to an academic discipline, often containing articles, book reviews, and other material about the subject
An ARTICLE is a single written work published in a journal or magazine
Think of a filing cabinet. The whole cabinet is Galileo. A single drawer is a database. A folder within the drawer is a journal (or a book!). A piece of paper within a folder is an article (or a book chapter!)
Image CC-BY Georgia Highlands College Library
Now that we've covered some basics, let's look at the Galileo Advanced Search!
You can find it tucked under the search bar on the Galileo home page and the library home page, or under the search box while you are looking at a list of results.
And look what you see! The ability to use BOOLEAN OPERATORS! (Want to know more? Check out the Boolean box on this page! They are a fantastic way to really narrow your search.)
You can also use the "select a field" dropdown to get even more specific, by searching specifically by author, subject, or even journal title!
Boolean logic defines logical relationships between terms in a search. The Boolean search operators are and, or and not. You can use these operators to create a very broad or very narrow search.
Note: When executing a search, And takes precedence over Or.
The following table illustrates the operation of Boolean terms:
