Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 2111 - Abbott (Online) - Fall 2021

s

 

Galileo is your one-stop-shop for library research!

Need a quick overview of Galileo and the Library website? Check out the quick video for lots of tips and tricks, then pop over to the search box and get started.

What is Galileo?

What is Galileo?

GALILEO is a collection of databases provided by GHC and the University System of Georgia.

What is a Database?

A DATABASE is searchable collection of online subscription resources (journals, images, videos, and sometimes whole books); usually material that is not available through free search engines like Google

What is a Journal?

A JOURNAL is a regularly published "magazine", usually related to an academic discipline, often containing articles, book reviews, and other material about the subject

What is an Article?

An ARTICLE is a single written work published in a journal or magazine

 

Still Confused?

Think of a filing cabinet. The whole cabinet is Galileo. A single drawer is a database. A folder within the drawer is a journal (or a book!). A piece of paper within a folder is an article (or a book chapter!)

 

filing cabinet with drawer pulled out and file folder with a piece of paper

Image CC-BY Georgia Highlands College Library

GHC Libraries Search

Search for articles and more in databases @ GALILEO:
 
 

Go to: GALILEO  |   Databases by Subject   |   Find a Journal  |  All Databases A-Z

 

Search for books, ebooks, DVDs, periodicals, and more @ GHC or other libraries:
 

Go to: Advanced Search @ GHC  |  e-Book Help Guide

Special e-Book collections: Popular reading @ Overdrive  |  Health sciences resources @ R2

Guide to popular reading in print: Poptitles

Search for videos and images in GALILEO databases:

  

Go to: Streaming Video @ Kanopy | Feature Films @ SWANK

 
 
 

View all Guides

©2021 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com