Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your prep work is done. You know that GALILEO is the right place to search. Use the ADVANCED SEARCH screen to layout your search and add any limiters you need to (full text, peer reviewed, date published) and search away!
If you get stuck or the results are not what you had wanted to see, then go back to your keyword worksheet and try your search again using synonyms or related terms. Don't give up and don't get frustrated! GHC Librarians are here to help if you need it!
Subject Specific Databases
Try searching in these databases for a narrower search in some subject-specific databases. These databases are NOT included when you search GALILEO Discover.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire database is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Literature Online Premium (LION)
Literature Online Premium (LION) is a full-text library of over 330,000 works of British and American poetry, drama and prose. In addition to literary texts, LION includes biographical sketches of major writers, selected author bibliographies, and critical and reference works.
Brings together collections of essays, commentary, criticism, primary sources and biographical information related to literature, history and culture from a variety of sources.
Bloom's Literary Reference Online
Bloom's Literary Reference Online features hundreds of essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, as well as thousands of critical articles by noted scholars from the Bloom's Literary Criticism imprint. With an archive of more than 42,000 characters and extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, and genres, the database contains thousands of entries and almost 170 video segments.