Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CHEM 2401 - Easton (Cartersville) - Spring 2021: Galileo

 

Galileo is your one-stop-shop for library research!

Need a quick overview of Galileo and the Library website? Check out the quick video for lots of tips and tricks.

Then pop over to the search box and get started, or check out the specific databases recommended in the first tab. 

Get Started With Galileo

READ ME FIRST!

READ ME FIRST!!!!

 

There are some important things you need to know about articles and databases.

GALILEO is chock-full of information, but some of its contents would not be appropriate for college-level work.  For example, you would never want to use the following in any assignment requiring scholarly or peer-reviewed sources:

  • Book Reviews
  • Encyclopedia entries
  • Dictionary entries

Why do I point this out?  Because these kinds of results can often appear in your searches, and you need to be able to recognize them.

For book reviews, look in the first few sentences for things like a book title with an author, or phrases like "this is a review of the book Blah Blah Blah"  Sometimes in the basic citation link - even before you click into it - you will see the words "book review".  Just say NO!

Encyclopedia and dictionary entries are even easier to spot.  Look at the citation link for the words "encyclopedia" or "dictionary."

All this is to remind you to PAY ATTENTION to what you're reading!  If you make sure you have excellent sources right from the start, you'll have a much easier time when you get down to writing your paper. 

GHC Libraries Search

Search for articles and more in databases @ GALILEO:
 
 

Go to: GALILEO  |   Databases by Subject   |   Find a Journal  |  All Databases A-Z

 

Search for books, ebooks, DVDs, periodicals, and more @ GHC or other libraries:
 

Go to: Advanced Search @ GHC  |  e-Book Help Guide

Special e-Book collections: Popular reading @ Overdrive  |  Health sciences resources @ R2

 
 
 

View all Guides

Starting Your Search

Starting Your Search

  • Using the search box, type in "organic chemistry"
  • On the left, make sure the "Peer Reviewed" and the "Full Text" boxes are checked
  • Then look at Limit By Type and make sure "Academic Journals" is checked
  • Finalls, scroll down to the Subject list, click More, and narrow down to a more specific subject. (Hint: if you click the "More" button a box will pop up with all the different options!)
    • This is really important since Galileo has so much information in it!
Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.872.8501 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com