CHEM 2401 - Easton (Cartersville) - Spring 2021: Science Databases

Searching Science in Context

Science in Context showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. The collection includes millions of full-text articles that includes national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.

Using the Search Box

• Type in "Organic Chemistry" (or a more specific topic of your choice)
• Select the "Academic Journals" link
• On the right, make sure you check Peer-Reviewed Journals box
• If you'd like to narrow down a little more, click "Subjects" and choose a more specific topic

Searching Science and Technology

EBSCO's Science and Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.

Starting Your Search

• Using the search box, type in "organic chemistry"
• On the left, make sure the "Peer Reviewed" and the "Full Text" boxes are checked
• If you'd like, scroll down to the Subject list, click More, and narrow down to a more specific subject. (Hint: if you click the "More" button a box will pop up with all the different options!)

Searching ProQuest's Science Database

With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,600 titles-with more than 1,270 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.

Searching:

This one's a little tricky. There are some GREAT resources here, but you need to filter out the education journals which aren't really appropriate for this particular project.So we'll do an advanced search which finds articles about organic chemistry but NOT in education journals!

• On the main search screen, look below the search box and click ADVANCED SEARCH
• type Organic chemistry (or your more specific topic) in the first box
• Where it says "AND" directly underneath, change that to NOT
• Type education in the box beside your NOT
• Then, finally, in the last box, choose PUBLICATION TITLE  
• Make sure Peer Reviewed and Full Text are checked, and click search!
• There's a subject box on the left, where you can narrow down to a more specific topic (don't forget to click "More!")