Skip to main content

POLS 1101 - Roberts-Lewis (Douglasville) - Spring 2018

Finding Credible Sources in GALILEO

GALILEOGALILEOGeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online,  is a portal of databases in which you'll find authoritative sources for your research.  The GALILEO DISCOVER search on the homepage searches 100+ databases at one time and often gives you way too many results to go through.  You can use the "Advanced Search" feature for DISCOVER found under the search box to add terms, limits, and filters in order to narrow down your results.  However, searching specific databases is the best way to find the most reliable sources.  Here are a select few English Literature focused databases.  Using "Advanced Search" is still recommended in order to narrow down results by adding terms, limits and filters.

GALILEO Discover Search

You can begin your search right here on the library webpage in the DISCOVER search box.  This is fine for a basic search - you will probably get a lot of results and need to either add more search terms, or put limits/filters on your search.

The DISCOVER search will search many databases at one time, however will not search the many specialty databases we subscribe to.

Choosing a Database

There are several options for choosing a database on the GALILEO home page.Galileo Menu Bar

Browse by Subject - choose a category and then a subject in the drop-down to get a list of the best databases to use for a specific subject.

Browse by Type - choose a publication type to find databases specialized in a specific type of content.

Databases A-Z - If you know exactly which database you want, click on the beginning letter of its name.  Otherwise, click on "All databases" to get a list of all 300+ databases in alphabetical order.

Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.915.5010 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007 | Douglasville Library - 678.872.4237
©2015 Georgia Highlands College |