Skip to main content

ENGL 1102 - Abbott (Online) - Spring 2018: Find Articles




There are some important things you need to know about articles and databases.

GALILEO is chock-full of information, but some of its contents would not be appropriate for college-level work.  For example, you would never want to use the following in any assignment requiring scholarly or peer-reviewed sources:

  • Book Reviews
  • Encyclopedia entries
  • Dictionary entries

Why do I point this out?  Because these kinds of results can often appear in your searches, and you need to be able to recognize them.

For book reviews, look in the first few sentences for things like a book title with an author, or phrases like "this is a review of the book Blah Blah Blah"  Sometimes in the basic citation link - even before you click into it - you will see the words "book review".  Just say NO!

Encyclopedia and dictionary entries are even easier to spot.  Look at the citation link for the words "encyclopedia" or "dictionary."

All this is to remind you to PAY ATTENTION to what you're reading!  If you make sure you have excellent sources right from the start, you'll have a much easier time when you get down to writing your paper. 

GALILEO Password

To get in to GALILEO from home, you need the GALILEO password. The password changes every semester. You can find it by clicking on the My Library Account link on the Library Homepage. Then choose your affiliation (Student or Faculty/Staff) and enter your GHC email address and password. From there click "Get GALILEO Password" and then look for the "GALILEO Password" tab.

GALILEO Discover

We  have a "Discovery" search, which searches *most* of GALILEO all at once.  It can be very cumbersome, however, so if you feel overwhelmed try the individual databases below... or ask your friendly neighborhood librarian for assistance!

General Databases

Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.915.5010 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007 | Douglasville Library - 678.872.4237
©2015 Georgia Highlands College |