Skip to main content

African-American Literature Topic Guide: GHC Databases

History

African-American History Online

Exploring more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History Online offers many exciting features, including more than 85 historical videos that bring history to life. The extensively hyperlinked entries in this comprehensive database include subject entries, primary sources, images and videos, general and topic-specific timelines, biographies, maps and charts, and more.

 

Civil Rights Digital Library

  • Coverage Dates: 1954-1970
  • Update Frequency: Ongoing

The Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) promotes an enhanced understanding of the Civil Rights Movement through its three principal components:

  • a digital video archive delivering 30 hours of historical news film allowing learners to be nearly eyewitnesses to key events of the Civil Rights Movement
  • a civil rights portal providing a seamless virtual library on the Civil Rights Movement by aggregating metadata from 75 libraries and allied organizations from across the nation
  • instructional materials to facilitate the use of the video content in the learning process

The CRDL links to primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of more than 30 hours of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. These moving images - about 450 clips - cover a broad range of key civil rights events, including the desegregation of Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas (1957); the Atlanta Temple bombing (1958); Atlanta sit-ins (1960); Freedom Rides (1961); desegregation of the University of Georgia and Georgia Tech (1961); the Albany Movement (1961-1962); desegregation of Ole Miss (1962) and University of Alabama (1963); and Americus Movement (1963, 1965); Birmingham demonstrations (1963); among many other topics.

CRDL is a partnership among librarians, technologists, archivists, educators, scholars, academic publishers, and public broadcasters. The initiative receives support through a National Leadership Grant for Libraries awarded to the University of Georgia by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Biography


African American Biographical Database

  • Coverage Dates: 1790 - 1950
  • Update Frequency: Bimonthly

African American Biographical Database (AABD) brings together the biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not to be found in any other reference source. These biographical sketches (including photographs and illustrations) have been assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. AABD draws its initial content from Chadwyck-Healey's Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.

The collection contains extended narratives of African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more--both the famous and the everyday person.

Literature

African-American Poetry: 1760-1900

The database of African-American Poetry, 1760-1900, provides access to the full text of the works of nearly 3,000 poems by 54 African-American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

The database includes the poems of such well-known figures as Paul Laurence Dunbar and Phillis Wheatley and the verse of many lesser-known poets whose works may only be found in anthologies or private libraries. Most of the poets in the database were not acknowledged during their lifetimes, but only granted recognition posthumously.

Covering a wide range of topics from slavery and abolition to love and death, this collection provides a unique portrait of early America through the reflections of African-American poets during the 18th and 19th centuries. It contains a rich variety of poetic styles and types including elegies, odes, ditties, hymns, and sonnets.

Generally, the policy has been to use first editions whenever possible; later editions were selected if they were more inclusive. Where poems appeared in their original dialect in an earlier edition and standardized in a later edition, both forms have been included for comparison purposes. Poems originally published in periodicals have also been included. Textual apparatus and front matter to the poems are generally omitted, except the poet's own notes, which are included in the database.

The contents are based upon the bibliography of William French et al, Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975: A Guide to Information Sources (Gale Research, 1979).

Black Thought and Culture (BLTC)

Black Thought and Culture contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.

Gateway to the Classics by Author (Encyclopædia Britannica)
Gateway to the Classics by Title (Encyclopædia Britannica)

TheGateway to the Classics from Encyclopaedia Britannica provides an introduction to significant works of Western history, literature, philosophy, and science. Full-text of short stories, plays, essays, letters, and extracts are searchable and browseable by author or subject.

Humanities International Complete

Humanities International Complete provides the full text of hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) as well as the full text of more than 800 journals.

Literary Reference Center

  • Coverage Dates: 1912 - present (full text); 1912 - present (abstracting and indexing)

Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures. Reference sources include:

  • Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes)
  • The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story
  • Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature
  • Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
  • Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
  • The Literary Encyclopedia
  • The complete MagillOnLiterature Plus
  • Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
  • The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
  • The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature

Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism Online provides access to critical articles and essays from Contemporary Literary Criticism (starting in 2009 with Vol. 258) and Short Story Criticism (starting in 2009 with Vol. 114).

Literature Online (LION) (ProQuest)

  • Coverage Dates: 600 A.D.-
  • Update Frequency: Ongoing
  • Audience: Research, student

LION (Literature Online) is a full-text library of over 330,000 works of British and American poetry, drama and prose. In addition to literary texts, LION includes biographical sketches of major writers, selected author bibliographies, and critical and reference works.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)

  • Coverage Dates: Dates vary
  • Update Frequency: Ongoing
  • Audience: Research
  • Literature Resource Center includes full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines; excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries; reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies; biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors; full text of thousands of poems and short stories; overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics; and links to editorially selected websites on authors and their works, as well as pictures of well-known authors and audio interviews and reviews.

Salem Literature

Critical Insights is a comprehensive series that distills the best of both classic and current literary criticism of the world's most-studied literature. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author's entire body of work or on a single work of literature. Edited and written by some of academe's most distinguished literary scholars, Critical Insights provides authoritative, indepth scholarship suitable for students and teachers alike.

Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.915.5010 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007 | Douglasville Library - 678.872.4237
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com