Skip to main content

Collection Assessment

Working Document to keep track of collection assessment activities

Nursing Collection Assessment Plan

ALA Online Learning – Fundamentals of Collection Assessment 2014

Jeannie Blakely

Course Project

September 8, 2014

 

 

Assessment of the Nursing Resources at Georgia Highlands College

 

Environment

Georgia Highlands College is a regional institution that is part of the University System of Georgia.  It has over 5000 students enrolled at five different campuses.  It offers primarily two year associate degree programs.  One of the more rigorous and well-respected of these is the nursing program of study which accepts approximately 100 students each semester.  The school has received SACS approval to offer four year baccalaureate degrees including a RN-BSN Bridge Program which began in August of 2013.

Georgia Highlands College Libraries have more than 77,000 printed books, held at four different campus locations, and provide access to more than 85,000 online books that are available from any location with internet access.  Through the statewide GIL Express system, students can request almost any book held by any library in the University System of Georgia.  Through GALILEO, each campus can access nearly 37,000 magazine, journal, and newspaper titles in addition to our print collection.  If an article is not available in the print collections or in GALILEO or a book is not available in our catalog or through GIL Express, our students can use InterLibrary Loan to request a copy of the article from another library.

The library plays an active support role in the nursing program of study, both as a resource to students and as an important player in multiple accreditation reviews by various Nursing Boards. 

Purpose of the collection assessment

The purpose of this project is an assessment of the nursing collection to support a new BSN program of study at Georgia Highlands College.  Assessment of our electronic collections in this area will be a critical part of this plan as these are the resources most heavily used by our nursing students and the BSN program is a completely online one at this point.  We will also look at our print resources in this area as well, gathering circulation statistics and GIL Express request statistics and comparing our collection to recommended lists.

The assessment will provide data to demonstrate library program support to nursing accreditation teams.  It will also put in place reports and procedures that can be help facilitate regular tasks like weeding and replacement of older materials.

Audience

The intended audience for this plan will be the other librarians on the nursing assessment team and the library director.  We hope to use the resulting assessment with the nursing faculty, the college administrators and with the program accreditation team to demonstrate that the library is supporting this new program of study.

Scope of the Project  

 The scope of this project will include e-resources and print materials in the nursing area.  There are no budgetary requirements.  The project will be integrated into the regular duties of the librarians and support staff.

Timeline:

Task

Start Date

Deadline

Create and communicate with assessment team

Aug 2014

June 30, 2016

Establish goals and objectives

Sept 2014

Oct. 1 2014

Determine methodology

Sept 2014

Oct. 1 2014

Research methodology/get reports written and/or surveys written and in place for data gathering

Oct. 1 2014

Dec. 31 2014

Data gathering (monthly circ statistics on nursing titles)

Jan 1 2015

July 1, 2016

Data gathering (age analysis before)

Jan 1 2015

Jan 1 2015

Weed based on age analysis

Jan 2, 2015

June 30, 2016

Data gathering (age analysis after)

July 1, 2015

July 1, 2016

 

Data gathering (stats on eresources from GALILEO)

July1, 2015

July 1, 2016

Data gathering (Survey)

Jan 1, 2015

July 1, 2016

Meet with team to interpret findings and create report for nursing assessment team

July 1, 2016

Aug 1, 2016

Communicate results to director and get feedback/modify report

Aug 1, 2016

Sept 1 2016

 

 

 

Who will be involved?

The assessment team task force will be composed of the Technical Services Librarian, the Assistant Director, and two Assistant Librarians for Public Service who both serve as liaisons to the nursing area.

The Technical Services Librarian will be the primary data gatherer.  The rest of the team will provide feedback on goals, methodology and the final report.  The nursing liaisons could potentially administer a user survey as they have more ready access to the nursing faculty and/or students.

Methodology

To assess the nursing collections at Georgia Highlands we plan to use a variety of methods for both our print and our electronic resources.  We also plan to utilize a qualitative use-based approach in the form of a faculty or student survey.

A qualitative, collection-centered approach comparing our collection with recommended lists for the BSN nursing program of study is an obvious first step for the print collection.  If we are able to add a good portion of the titles, it is also an easy way to show an accrediting team that we are supporting the curriculum.  We weed this portion of the print collection regularly based on age.  I propose doing an age analysis using a Voyager report at the beginning of this weeding process, identifying older titles and replacing with newer ones if possible and then running another age analysis in Voyager giving a before and after snapshot.

We also plan to employ a user-based quantitative approach by collecting circulation statistics in Voyager on a monthly basis.  Identifying what titles and topics are circulating more frequently for the current nursing students can give us ideas into what topics are most needed in the print versions.  In addition, I plan to look at ILL statistics and our GIL Express borrowing statistics to identify print resources that have been heavily requested and need to be considered for purchase.  It will be interesting to see how these statistics change in the coming year as the new BSN students begin their course of study and start using the resources.

Assessment of our electronic collections will be a critical part of this plan as these are the resources most heavily used by our nursing students.  They are also some of our most expensive resources.  Our nursing databases are delivered though GALILEO.  We receive COUNTER use statistics provided by them in a yearly report.  We will continue to look at this data and compare the use the various databases get.  We have an ebook collection for nursing called R2.  We will collect COUNTER stats on these titles as well.

One user-centered measure that we intend to employ is a click reports for nursing Libguides.  We use libguides heavily, particularly in the nursing program (the BSN is currently on online only program so the libguide is a huge part of their library orientation and interaction).  It will be interesting to see which database links students are selecting the most.  As a qualitative user-centered method, we plan to use a survey.  We have meetings approximately once a year with our nursing faculty to help acquaint them with our services and resources.  We also have a student orientation session for the new nursing students. One (or both) of these sessions could easily include an informal “focus group” or “survey” component where we ask questions and get feedback from the faculty or students in a more structured and recordable way. 

Presentation of Results

The results will be presented to the assessment team and the library director in a brief Word Document with Excel spreadsheets, charts and graphs demonstrating the results included.  The director will give feedback and suggestions on changes.  The final draft will be included with the library material that we present to the nursing accreditation boards.

 

Floyd Library - 706.295.6318 | Heritage Hall - 706.295.6321 | Cartersville Library - 678.872.8400 | Marietta - 678.915.5010 | Paulding Library - 678.946.1007 | Douglasville Library - 678.872.4237
©2015 Georgia Highlands College | ask@highlands.libanswers.com