LibGuides: Hey, did you know . . .: GALILEO Rock Stars

GALILEO Rock Stars??? You bet!!!

EVERYTHING in GALILEO is AWESOME . . . But SOME Things in GALILEO are MORE Awesome Than Others!

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video library that allows you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from more than 6,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center includes full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines; excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries; reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies; biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors; full text of thousands of poems and short stories; and overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of hundreds of medical, nursing, and allied health books. Includes related videos.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
eBooks on EBSCOhost provides access to over 225,000 electronic books, including reference books, scholarly monographs, publications of many university presses, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. This includes all the EBSCO ebook collections including the Academic, Community College, and Public Library Collections.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Whether you're writing a critical essay, researching a report or term paper, or preparing for a debate, or you just want to be better informed, you'll find a variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia in Opposing Viewpoints in Context.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire database is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. As a member of the GHC community, you can tell Google Scholar to show you which of your search results are available through GALILEO or in print in your GHC Libraries!

GALILEO and Accessibility

Many GALILEO databases include advanced features to assist with accessibility in a variety of ways:

Video databases usually include closed captioning
Article databases often include built in readers
Article databases may also include built in translators
Some databases include Lexile scores for articles
Many databases play well with mobile devices

ALERT! ALERT!!!

Many databases allow you to create search alerts -- you can enter a keyword or phrase that you're interested in, and the database will automatically send you an email when a new article appears with that keyword or phrase.

Go MOBILE with GALILEO!

Many GALILEO databases work great on mobile devices as well!!! For instance, check out EBSCOhost Mobile Academic and EBSCOhost Mobile Español!!!

A Word About Copyright

One advantage to finding supplemental materials for your class within GALILEO is that you don't have to worry about violating copyright law! The licensing for GALILEO databases includes stipulations that allow you to use these materials for your courses, so long as only currently enrolled students have access to the content.

Want to know more? Ask a librarian!