LibGuides: English 1102: Munn-Spring 2011: Galileo

Literary Databases

Bloom’s Literary Reference Online features hundreds of essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, as well as thousands of critical articles by noted scholars from the Bloom’s Literary Criticism imprint.

Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals.

Credo Reference contains millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering numerous subject categories.

Literature Online Reference Edition (LION) contains a collection of literary reference and criticism resources, including biographies, author bibliographies, and full-text articles from 103 literature journals.

Locating Journal Articles

Galileo: Journals A-Z

Locate specific journals by first letter in the alphabetical list or by searching by name or keyword. (Example:Smithsonian)

Academic Search Complete- Multi-disciplinary Database

Academic Search Complete contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.

Topics include: business, politics, gov't, education, & pop culture

Issues and Controversies

Opposing Viewpoints - Pro/Con

CQ Researcher provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.